Frequently Asked Questions

FAQs

Citation Information

The fine prior to June 1, 2024 was set at $40.00.  Starting June 1, 2024, the fine increased to $80.00. Automated speed enforcement violations are considered civil violations. Points will not be assessed against your driver’s license for any Automated Work Zone Speed Limit violations.

Options for paying the fine can be found on the citation or by clicking on “Pay Citation” on the Maryland SafeZones website. Payments can be made online​, by mail, by phone or by paying in person at a Maryland SafeZones walk-in facility. Please note that a $2.00 processing fee is assessed for all credit card transactions.

If you were not driving your car at the time of the violation, you must provide a sworn statement explaining the circumstances. Your statement must swear or affirm that you were not operating the vehicle at the time of the violation. In addition, your statement must include corroborating evidence that you were not driving the vehicle at the time of the violation. Examples of providing corroborating evidence include:

  • Providing the name, address and driver's license number, if possible, of the person who was driving the vehicle at the time of the violation.
  • Providing a copy of a police report showing that the vehicle or license plates were stolen. Note: Police reports must have been filed in a timely manner or they will not be considered as evidence.

Your statement must include the citation number and be received no later than thirty days after the mail date of the citation. Your statement must be mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested to:

                    Maryland SafeZones
                    P.O. Box 17648
                    Baltimore, MD 21297

The Maryland SafeZones program will forward your statement and corroborating evidence to the appropriate District Court for adjudication and will inform you by mail of the decision of the Court.

In transfer of liability cases (e.g., those cases where the driver of the vehicle at the time of the violation is named), after receiving evidence from the District Court as to who was operating the vehicle at the time of the violation, the police department that issued the original citation may issue a citation to the person named as the driver of the vehicle. This citation will be mailed within two weeks of the police department receiving evidence from the District Court.​

Yes. Any vehicle owner who receives a citation has the option to appeal. All citations are contested in Maryland District Court; mail adjudication is not permitted in the State of Maryland.

To appeal the citation and request a trial, complete the request form at the bottom of your citation, sign and return it at least five days prior to the due date on the front of the notice, to:

                   Maryland SafeZones
                   P.O. Box 17648
                   Baltimore, MD 21297

You will be notified by mail of the court date, time and location. You must appear in court on the scheduled court date or pay the citation prior to that date. If you do not receive a letter with the court date, time and location within 30 days of your request for a trial, call Maryland SafeZones Customer Service at 1-877-578-7440.​

Non-Payment / Late Payments

Failure to pay the fine or contest the violation in court can result in additional fees and penalties.

Days from Citation Mail DateCitation E​s​calatio​n​
0 to 30 days​

Payment is due 30 days after the mail date of the original citation.
31 to 60 daysIf the fine is not paid by the citation due date, a second notice will be sent to the registered owner reminding them that payment is due, with a 30-day extension to pay. No late fees are charged.
61 days to 90 daysIf the fine is not paid within 60 days after the original citation is mailed, a third notice is mailed to the registered owner. For violators with Maryland license plates, the Maryland SafeZones program places a non-renewal flag on the registered owner's vehicle registration at the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA). The MDOT MVA assesses an additional $30 fee over and above the original citation amount. The $30 fee assessed by the MDOT MVA must be paid directly to the MDOT MVA. The original fine for the citation is paid to the Maryland SafeZones program at this stage.
90+ daysIf the fine is not paid within 90 days after the original citation is mailed, the unpaid citation will be forwarded to the State of Maryland Central Collection Unit (CCU). CCU assesses a fee in the amount of 17% of the fee due or $6.80 per citation. Payment of the original fine and CCU fee must be made directly to CCU; it can no longer be paid to the Maryland SafeZones program​. For CCU payment options and information, contact them at 410-767-1220 (toll free at 1-888-248-0345) or visit the CCU website.​


​If you receive a notice from the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) or cannot renew your registration due to an unpaid citation from the Maryland SafeZones program, you must obtain a flag release.


First, contact Maryland SafeZones Customer Service at 1-877-578-7440 to determine if your account has been forwarded to the Maryland Central Collection Unit (CCU).

Days from Citation ​Ma​il DateFlag Release Pr​oce​dures
61 days to 90 days
(Account with Maryland SafeZones)

Your account is still with the Maryland SafeZones program office. You can pay Maryland SafeZones directly and obtain the flag release from it. Options for paying the fine can be found on the citation or on the Pay Citation page of this website. If you pay online or over the phone, the flag release will be sent to the MDOT MVA within 24-48 hours through an automated process.

If you need an immediate flag release, after paying the fine, contact Maryland SafeZones Customer Service at 1-877-578-7440 for a flag release. Maryland SafeZones Customer Service will confirm your payment and contact MDOT MVA for an urgent flag release. Once MDOT MVA has processed the flag release, you can renew your registration at any MDOT MVA kiosk or online at www.MVA.Maryland.gov.

90+ days
(Account forwarded to CCU)

Please note it may take several days to fully complete this process due to the number of agencies involved.

You must pay the original fine and CCU fee directly to CCU;​ you can no longer make payment through Maryland SafeZones. First, contact CCU at 410-767-1220 (toll free at 1-888-248-0345) or visit the CCU website for payment options. If you pay cash at their Preston Street location, you must ask the customer service representative to add a note to your account. If you pay by money order or certified check through the mail, please allow enough time for the receipt and processing of your payment.

Once you have paid CCU, contact MDOT SHA at 410-545-5744 and provide them with your citation number. MDOT SHA will confirm with CCU that payment has been made for your citation. Once confirmed, an MDOT SHA customer service representative will add a note to your Maryland SafeZones account acknowledging the fine was paid to CCU. MDOT SHA phone lines are open M-F from 8:30 am to 4:00 pm and closed on state holidays.

After MDOT SHA confirms your payment and adds a note on your Maryland SafeZones account, you must contact Maryland SafeZones Customer Service at 1-877-578-7440 for the MDOT MVA flag release. Maryland SafeZones Customer Service will confirm your payment and send a flag release to the MDOT MVA for processing. Once MDOT MVA has processed the flag release, you can review your registration at any MDOT MVA kiosk or online at www.MVA.Maryland.gov.


​Follow the steps below. Please note it may take several days to fully complete this process due to the number of agencies involved.

  1. You must pay the original fine and CCU fee directly to CCU; you can no longer make payment through Maryland SafeZones. First, contact CCU at 410-767-1220 (toll free at 1-888-248-0345) or visit the CCU website for payment options. If you pay cash at their Preston Street location, you must ask the customer service representative to add a note to your account. If you pay by money order or certified check through the mail, please allow enough time for the receipt and processing of your payment.
  2. Once you have paid CCU, contact MDOT SHA at 410-545-5744 and provide them with your citation number.  MDOT SHA will confirm with CCU that payment has been made for your citation. Once confirmed, a MDOT SHA customer service representative will add a note your Maryland SafeZones account acknowledging the fine was paid to CCU. MDOT SHA phone lines are open M-F from 8:30 am to 4:00 pm and closed on state holidays.
  3. After MDOT SHA confirms your payment and adds a note on your Maryland SafeZones account, you must contact Maryland SafeZones Customer Service at 1-877-578-7440 for the MDOT MVA flag release. Maryland SafeZones Customer Service will confirm your payment and send a flag release to the MDOT MVA for processing. Once MDOT MVA has processed the flag release, you can review your registration at any MDOT MVA kiosk or online at www.MVA.Maryland.gov

Maryland SafeZones Program Information

Automated speed enforcement (ASE) is a system that uses a camera and speed measurement device to detect and capture images of vehicles traveling at speeds above a defined threshold. Often, ASE systems are referred to as speed cameras. ASE is used to supplement other engineering, education and enforcement initiatives focused on altering driver behavior and improving safety in work zones.​​

The goals of Maryland SafeZones are to reduce speeds in work zones, improve driver behavior and promote work zone safety. Lane restrictions and other hazards in a work zone make it imperative for drivers to stay alert and obey the posted speed limit. Nationwide, speeding is a contributing factor in over one third of all fatal crashes in work zones. ​​

The Maryland Department of Transportation State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA), Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) and Maryland State Police (MSP) began the Maryland SafeZones pilot program on October 1, 2009, coinciding with the date Maryland law first allowed speed cameras in work zones. Refer to Transportation Article § 21-810 for additional details on the law.​

To maximize the program's flexibility and impact, the speed cameras used in work zones are deployed in sport-utility vehicles referred to as "mobile ASE units." A mobile ASE unit can be located within the limits of any work zone where the posted speed limit prior to implementing the work zone is 45 mph or greater. There are ten (10) mobile ASE units that rotate through a series of predetermined work zones throughout the state.​. The work zone locations  are posted online on the Maryland SafeZones website. MDOT SHA, MDTA and MSP use a variety of factors to determine camera deployment locations, including roadway and work zone characteristics such as facility type, speed limit, temporary traffic control activities and whether traditional in-person enforcement is viable.

Large warning signs are posted to provide motorists adequate advance notice of work zones where photo speed enforcement may be occurring.

  ​

Additionally, a speed display trailer shows the posted speed limit and provides a digital reading of approaching vehicle speeds in advance of the mobile ASE unit. The digital reading on the speed display trailer prompts drivers to check their speedometers so that they can reduce their vehicle speed if necessary. The speed display trailer is not used for issuing citations. Regardless of the presence of speed cameras, drivers should always obey the posted speed limit in work zones.

In accordance with Maryland law, images are only captured and used for the purpose of issuing a citation if a vehicle exceeds the posted work zone speed limit by 12 mph or greater.​

Yes. Citations may be issued regardless of whether workers are present in the work zone. Work zone speed limits are established in the interest of safety for both the motoring public and workers. Works zones, by nature, present challenging driving conditions. Work zones conditions, such as lane shifts, split travel lanes, reduced lane widths, concrete barriers and uneven pavement present potential hazards that leave little margin for driver error, regardless of whether workers are actively working. ​

Not necessarily. The ASE system uses a flash to improve image quality during low-light and dark conditions. The flash is triggered when the system is taking test shots, as well as when the system detects a vehicle traveling at 12 mph or more above the posted work zone speed limit. Citations are only issued to the registered owners of vehicles exceeding the posted work zone speed limit by 12 mph or more.​

For vehicles registered in Maryland, citations are mailed no later than 14 days after the violation occurs. For vehicles registered in another state, citations are mailed no later than 30 days after the violation occurs.​

The law required the issuance of warnings during the 30-day period after the first work zone automated speed enforcement (ASE) system was in place. To meet this requirement, warnings were issued for a 45-day period (October 1 through November 15, 2009) after the first Maryland SafeZones ASE system was in place, exceeding the 30-day requirement.

While not required by the law, from the start of the long-term contract in 2010 through November 2023, Maryland SafeZones also issued warnings for a three (3) week period at the start of enforcement at new long-term work zone deployments. Once the program was well established statewide, the extra three (3) week warning periods were discontinued. Warnings may still be issued, on occasion, at the discretion of the Maryland SafeZones program.​

Yes. Images captured by ASE systems are processed and reviewed by the ASE system contractor. In addition to being reviewed by the ASE system contractor, each citation is verified and approved by a police officer employed by the Maryland State Police or the Maryland Transportation Authority Police. The reviewing police officer signs a statement on the citation that indicates the vehicle was operated in violation of the law based on inspection of the recorded images.​

​ As outlined in Maryland Annotated Code Transportation Article §12-118, revenue from the fines collected from the program covers the costs incurred by the Maryland State Police and State Highway Administration in implementing and administering the program.  Twenty-five percent (25%) of the balance of revenue is distributed to the Maryland State Police to purchase replacement vehicles and related motor-vehicle equipment used to outfit police vehicles.  The remaining seventy-five percent (75%) of the balance of revenue is distributed to the Transportation Trust Fund for highway and work zone safety purposes and for State Highway Administration system preservation.​

​No. Images collected as part of this program are only used for the execution of this program. 

Speed cameras record images of vehicles whose drivers violate traffic laws by speeding. When motorists apply for a driver's license, they agree to abide by the rules of the road. The purpose of the Maryland SafeZones program is to improve highway safety by detecting motorists who violate the law and endanger the lives of other motorists and construction workers.

ASE Technology

​The ASE system measures the speed of each passing vehicle using scanning Lidar technology. A series of photographs documents vehicles traveling at or above a determined speed threshold. The date, time and location of the violation, as well as the speed and license plate of the violator's vehicle, are recorded. ​

Each ASE system undergoes an annual calibration check by an independent calibration laboratory. Maryland law also requires ASE systems to pass certain self-tests before producing a recorded image each time the ASE system is set up. These system self-tests are performed before each deployment by a trained operator and documented in a daily set-up log. A system self-test is also conducted at the end of each ASE deployment.​