Maryland Law

Governor Wes Moore signed the Maryland Road Worker Protection Act into law April 9, 2024, updating the state law governing the use of SafeZones Automated Speed Enforcement systems in Maryland highway work zones. Some provisions of the updated law take effect June 1, 2024, and others will go into effect January 1, 2025.

As a result of the legislation, fines for speed violations captured by automated speed enforcement systems in work zones increase from $40.00 to $80.00 beginning June 1, 2024. In some work zones, more than one camera may be deployed. If multiple speed cameras are used in a single work zone, only one citation may be issued for the same registration plate for alleged violations that occur within a one-hour period in the work zone.

On January 1, 2025, Maryland’s work zone speed violation fines will convert to a tiered system (see chart) based on how fast the vehicle is traveling above the speed limit. Other provisions taking effect January 1, 2025, include:

  • Fines will double when workers are present.
  • Cameras will be equipped with flashing blue lights.
  • Work zone signage and lighting requirements will be updated to enhance work zone designation and identify when workers are present.

Speed Range, in Excess of Work Zone Speed Limit (as of January 1, 2025) Fine Fine, Workers Present
Between 12 and 15 mph, inclusive $60 $120
Between 16 and 19 mph, inclusive $80 $160
Between 20 and 29 mph, inclusive $140 $280
Between 30 and 39 mph, inclusive $270 $540
40 mph or more $500 $1,000

As outlined in Maryland Annotated Code Article §12-118, revenue from fines collected from the program shall be distributed first to the Maryland State Police and State Highway Administration to cover the costs of implementing and administering the program. Twenty-five percent (25%) of the balance of revenue shall be distributed to the Maryland State Police for the purchase of replacement vehicles and related motor vehicle equipment used to outfit police vehicles. The remaining balance of revenue shall be distributed to the Transportation Trust Fund for highway and work zone safety purposes and for State Highway Administration system preservation.

Some of the provisions in the updated law were among recommendations from the Maryland Work Zone Safety Work Group formed by Governor Moore after the March 2023 work zone crash on the Baltimore Beltway that claimed the lives of six highway workers. The work group was chaired by Lieutenant Governor Aruna Miller and included members from the Maryland Department of Transportation, industry and labor organizations, safety advocacy groups, law enforcement agencies and citizens.